Gardens Illustrated has been shortlisted for three Garden Media Guild Awards for 2022: Garden Publication of the Year, Website of the Year and Cover of the Year.


The annual awards are held in recognition of the talent in the gardening media industry, with the winners to be announced in a ceremony on 25 November.

The awards are open to everyone who generates or publishes gardening content, with categories covering all areas of the garden media, garden books, books and magazines, websites and social media.

Our regular columnist, Benjamin Pope, has been shortlisted in one of the two book categories for What to Sow, Grow and Do, alongside Charles Dowding for No Dig and Iain Parkinson for Meadow and Marian Boswall for Sustainable Garden. Gardens Illustrated editor, Stephanie Mahon, has been nominated for her book, Wild Gardens.

Regular Gardens Illustrated photographers Jason Ingram, Richard Bloom, Clive Nichols and Annaick Guitteny have all been nominated in the photography categories.

Other nominees include Frances Tophill, Arit Anderson and Adam Frost.

Here is the shortlist in full.

GMG Cover of the Year

Garden Publication or Garden Section of the Year – Sponsored by Westland
BBC Gardeners' World Magazine
Kitchen Garden
Which? Gardening
Gardens Illustrated

Website of the Year – Sponsored by HONDA

Cover of the Year
The Organic Way
Which? Gardening
From Seed to Bloom
Gardens Illustrated
The Plant Rescuer

The Peter Seabrook Practical Book of the Year – Sponsored by The Garden Press Event
Lucy Bellamy for GROW 5: Simple, seasonal ideas for small outdoor spaces with just five plants (Mitchell Beazley)
Benjamin Pope for What to Sow, Grow & Do (Frances Lincoln)
Huw Richards for The Vegetable Grower's Handbook (Dorling Kindersley)
Charles Dowding for No Dig (Dorling Kindersley)
Mark Ridsdill Smith for The Vertical Veg Guide to Container Gardening (Chelsea Green Publishing)

The Garden Book of the Year – Sponsored by Johnsons Lawn Seed
Iain Parkinson for Meadow (Kew Publishing)
Marian Boswall for Sustainable Garden (Frances Lincoln)
Chris Thorogood for Chasing Plants (Kew Publishing)
John Massey and with Tomoo Mabuchi for My World of Hepaticas (Orphans Press)
Stephanie Mahon for Wild Gardens (National Trust Books)

The Dr David Hessayon Garden Columnist of the Year – Sponsored by Borde Hill Garden
Mark Diacono for In The Garden, Country Life
Ciar Byrne for Gardener’s Diary, The Lady
Non Morris for The English Garden
Andrew Oldham for The Country Smallholder
Alan Sargent for Sargent's Solutions, Horticulture Week

Practical Journalist of the Year – Sponsored by Mr Fothergill's
Frances Tophill for BBC Gardeners’ World Magazine
Naomi Slade for Garden News
Jane Moore for Horticulture Week
Adam Frost for BBC Gardeners’ World Magazine
Ruth Hayes for Amateur Gardening

Journalist of the Year – Sponsored by Roses UK
Kim Stoddart
Ben Dark
Sally Nex
Susie White
Carole Drake

The Beth Chatto Environmental Journalist of the Year – Sponsored by Beth Chatto Education Trust
Arit Anderson for Growing Greener podcast.
Rebecca Searle for Monocultures, Kitchen Garden Magazine.
Kim Stoddart for The Guardian
Karen Murphy for ‘The Natural Gardener’, Garden News
Jack Wallington for feature on water resilience in BBC Gardener’s World magazine.

The Gordon Rae Photographer of the Year
Clive Nichols
Joe Wainwright
Jason Ingram
Marianne Majerus
Richard Bloom

Features Photographer of the Year – Sponsored by COBRA Garden Machinery
Annaïck Guitteny
Jason Ingram
Marianne Majerus
Richard Bloom
Clive Nichols

Portfolio Photographer of the Year
Molly Hollman
Fiona Walsh
Annette Lepple

The Roy Lancaster TV Broadcast of the Year
How To Start Gardening With Jane Moore
Gardeners’ World Wildlife Gardening special
Carol Klein’s Summer Gardening, episode 6

Radio Broadcast or Podcast of the Year – Sponsored by The Horticultural Trades Association
Tales from the Veg Patch
Loving Your Garden - Better Gardening Podcast.
Gardeners’ Corner Special: William Robinson’s wild gardening.

The Alan Titchmarsh New Talent of the Year – Sponsored by Alitex
Daniel Masoliver
Ellie Mitchell
Niall McCauley
Bhupinder Sohanpal
Helen Cross

Blog or Vlog of the Year – Sponsored by Thompson & Morgan


Social Media Communicator of the Year – Sponsored by STIHL
Ben Newell
Alessandro Vitale
Pollyanna Wilkinson
Sarah Gerrard-Jones
Jason Williams


Veronica Peerless is a trained horticulturalist and garden designer.